Wallwisher

Wallwisher is a free, online collaboration site that has become very popular, and I wanted to share one of my current uses of it.

If you are new to Wallwisher, the concept is simple – imagine a wall in your classroom that students use to post comments, ideas, images, or audio and video clips via moveable (and removable) “sticky” notes (think Post-it notes).  Setting up a free account is easy, and privacy options allow for all posts to be viewed by the wall owner prior to going live.

As a way to earn bonus class participation points, my U.S. History students are permitted to post a “factoid” on the wall, one per person per week.  At the end of the week, my little boy randomly chooses the names of two student-posters (he draws from a hat and for some reason, my students love this idea) and they are awarded additional points.  I have found that the students who participate in this have fun trying to outdo each other every week, their “factoids” are usually really interesting, and I have been pleasantly surprised by the participation of students who are not otherwise very outgoing in the classroom.

The students are expected to post their source (if it is an online link) or be prepared to provide it to me when asked.

A recent "factoid" wall (click to see full size).

I have also used Wallwisher for announcements, KWL exercises, comments on readings or videos and as a source clearinghouse.  In another example, our librarian has used it as a “What Are You Reading Now?” page for teachers and students.

Have you used Wallwisher?  I’d like to hear about your experiences.  Can you give me some new ideas for using it in my classroom?

4 Comments

Filed under school, Tools

4 responses to “Wallwisher

  1. I have used Wallwisher with my primary/elementary students to pose an answer to which they needed to give a mathematical question to fit the answer.
    “The answer is 32. What might the mathematical question have been?” It was easy to use and we stuck to using intials on our notes.

    • This is a great idea, even for my high school kids. I could use this to put content-related answers (that can’t be Googled!) out there and then turn the questions into review lessons (critically important for me right now as we are gearing up for our state tests).

      This is a “Why didn’t I think of that?” moment – thanks!

  2. Joanne Selig

    Grade 2 used wall wisher for an Animal Biome project. They shared research and comments with another school. Very cool.
    Joanne Selig
    http://juselig.edublogs.org

  3. Britt Gow

    Hi Mrs Angle,
    Wallwisher is an easy-to-use tool that allows democratic participation in the classroom. It can be used as a form of self-assessment -“What did you learn about (fractions) today.” or to get feedback from students about a lesson – “What did you like about this activity? How did it help you to learn? What could be improved about this lesson?” I am pleased to see teachers using it so successfully in their classes.

Leave a Reply

