Student Teacher

I have agreed to take a student teacher for the last 10 weeks of the school year.Teacher Appreciation Cupcakes

There.  I have admitted it to the world, so therefore, I now have to follow that particular yellow brick road on the path to Oz.

I hate to sound so dramatic.  I mean, lots of teachers mentor pre-service teachers.  Lots of teachers do it all the time.  Lots of teachers do it well, all the time.  But, then again, lots of teachers are crazy.

The issue for me is control, the surrendering of it.  And I like my kids this year.  A lot.  And we’re really grooving into the 20th century now, the time frame when the students finally begin to “get” it and care a little.

But, I’m giving it up.  Instead, I’ll be watching a college senior have the fun.

*sigh*

3 Comments

Filed under Random, school

3 responses to “Student Teacher

  1. Hello Mrs. Angle,

    So glad you let us in on your choice to take on the responsibility of preparing another teacher for impacting the lives of many! It is overwhelming at times, but so rewarding as well.

    One of my favorite tips for working with a student teacher is to have her/him watch for two things each day from you: one instructional and the other on management.

    For example, I’d ask my student teacher to watch every lesson for 1) how and when did I communicate what we’d be learning, why we were learning it, and how we were learning it. 2) How did I pass out/collect materials? Throughout the day, I’d check for understanding with my student teacher to make sure she/he was picking up on it. At the end of the day, we’d debrief on those points and anything else that came up through our discussion. I’d also explain why I started with those discussion points.

    The next day, I might focus on how I checked for understanding…

    By helping the student teacher focus on just a few things, I could guide her/him to being more prepared. I could also ask her/him if tomorrow she/he could lead that part of the lesson? Then, it started more as a team teaching.

    I think it’s fabulous that you’ve taken on this responsibility. Best of luck!

    Kind regards,
    Tracy Watanabe

    • Hi Tracy,

      Thank you for the wonderful suggestions – by structuring the experience your way in the beginning, it will set up the mentor-student relationship that I hope to achieve. I’ve seen colleagues just turn student teachers loose, without enough guidance, and those situations always seem to finish poorly. I feel certain that you are right – by helping him focus on a few key things I can get him started on the right foot and allow him to gain a little confidence at the same time.

      Thanks again – just reading your comment has really helped me clarify my thoughts!

  2. Hi Mrs. Angle,

    I found my way back to your blog. =) I hope all went great with your student teacher!

    Kind regards,
    Tracy Watanabe

Leave a Reply

